Injured Jasprit Bumrah in doubt for the T20 World Cup

India’s T20 World Cup campaign is facing the prospect of a huge setback with spearhead Jasprit Bumrah in doubt for the tournament because of a back injury. Bumrah travelled to Bengaluru on Wednesday to undergo fresh scans on his back, and the results are awaited.
Bumrah had missed the Asia Cup in August and September with a back injury but was then picked for the subsequent home T20I series against Australia and South Africa. He played the second and third T20Is against Australia on September 23 and 25, returning figures of 1 for 23 and 0 for 50, before missing the first match against South Africa on September 28 because of back pain.

“Jasprit Bumrah complained of back pain during India’s practice session on Tuesday,” the BCCI said on Twitter after the toss of the first T20I against South Africa. “The BCCI medical team assessed him. He is ruled out of the first #INDvSA T20I.”

PTI, however, reported on Thursday that the fast bowler would miss the T20 World Cup, quoting a BCCI official who said Bumrah could be out of action for months. “Bumrah is not going to play the World T20 for sure. He has a serious back condition,” the BCCI official told PTI. “It’s a stress fracture and he could be out for a period of six months.”

India have two fast bowlers – Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar – in their reserves for the World Cup. Teams that have directly qualified for the Super 12 round of the tournament – as India have – can make changes to their squad without ICC permission till October 15.
If Bumrah doesn’t make the cut, he will be the second major player that India will miss at the tournament, after allrounder Ravindra Jadeja was ruled out by a knee injury.

India are in Group 2 in the Super 12 round of the T20 World Cup, along with Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh and two teams from the qualifying round. India begin their campaign against Pakistan at the MCG on October 23.

India T20 World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-capt), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Reserve players: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

PCB chairman slams Rawalpindi pitch as ’embarrassing’ as bowlers toil in Test
Baker Mayfield to the Rams: Why now, when he’ll play, and what’s next for Mayfield beyond 2022
Follow live: Morocco looks to secure their first-ever quarter-final appearence as they take on Spain in round-of-16 match
Brady tops Peyton with latest 4th-quarter stunner
Achane, ESPN’s No. 3 RB, says he’ll enter draft

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *