Netherlands bowl; Zubayr Hamza, Sisanda Magala debut for new-look South Africa


Visitors make three changes from the last ODI they played; hosts recall Wayne Parnell, Kyle Verreynne and Khaya Zondo

Toss Netherlands chose to bowl vs South Africa

Zubayr Hamza and Sisanda Magala were handed their ODI caps as South Africa fielded a new-look side for their opening ODI against Netherlands. There were recalls for Kolpak-returnee Wayne Parnell, wicketkeeper-batter Kyle Verreynne and middle-order batter Khaya Zondo. David Miller turned out to be the most experienced player in the team after South Africa chose to rest six regulars, including captain Temba Bavuma, for this series.
Netherlands made three changes from the last ODI they played, against Ireland in June. Batter Colin Ackermann, allrounder Roelof van der Merwe and quick Brandon Glover, all of whom were born in South Africa, came into the side for Musa Ahmed, Ben Cooper and Logan van Beek, respectively. Neither Cooper nor van Beek are part of the touring party. The other South Africa-born player in the Netherlands’ XI is opening batter Stephan Myburgh, who will partner Max O’Dowd at the top of the order.

The fixture marks the start of South Africa’s home summer, which has been thrown into doubt after a new Covid-19 variant was discovered by scientists in the country this week. Travel restrictions from several countries – including the UK and Singapore – have come into immediate effect, and the Dutch administrators will be meeting with Cricket South Africa today to decide the fate of the rest of the series.

The match also begins a new era in anti-racism demonstrations for South Africa. CSA confirmed that the team will take a knee throughout the summer after being instructed to do so at the T20 World Cup.

South Africa: 1 Janneman Malan, 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Zubayr Hamza, 4 Kyle Verreynne (wk), 5 David Miller, 6 Khaya Zondo, 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Keshav Maharaj (capt), 10 Sisanda Magala, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Netherlands: 1 Max O’Dowd, 2 Stephan Myburgh, 3 Scott Edwards (wk), 4 Colin Ackermann, 5 Bas de Leede, 6 Pieter Seelaar, 7 Roelof van der Merwe, 8 Timm der Gugten, 9 Fred Klaasen, 10 Vivian Kingma, 11 Brandon Glover

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Sources: Stevenson, Valdez work on title unifier
UCLA top RB Charbonnet to return for ’22 season
Djokovic nixed visa appeal moved to higher court
Snider retires after eight major league seasons
Australian Open 2022: How to watch on ESPN/ESPN+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *