Stewart, Gibbs among 5 elected to NASCAR Hall


Tony Stewart, Joe Gibbs, Waddell Wilson, Buddy Baker and Bobby Labonte were named to the NASCAR Hall of Fame, it was announced Wednesday.

The common tie for three of them was Joe Gibbs Racing. Stewart and Labonte both raced for the former NFL coach.

Stewart won 49 Cup Series races during his 17-year NASCAR career, including championships in 2002 and 2005 driving for Gibbs and another in 2011 with Stewart-Haas Racing. He won another championship as an owner in 2014 with driver Kevin Harvick.

Gibbs also is in the Pro Football Hall of Fame after coaching the Washington Redskins to three Super Bowl titles. He has led his racing team to four Cup Series championships — most recently by Kyle Busch in 2015 — and five Xfinity Series titles since he entered NASCAR in 1992.

His 164 wins at the Cup level as an owner rank third all time.

Labonte gave Gibbs the first of his four Cup titles in 2000 and found his way to Victory Lane on 21 occasions during his career. He also was the first to capture championships in both the Cup and Xfinity Series.

Baker, known as the “Gentle Giant” because of his 6-foot-6 frame, won 19 races in the Cup Series. His victory in the 1980 Daytona 500 at an average speed of 177.602 mph is a record that still stands.

Wilson was an engine builder and a crew chief, winning three Cup titles with David Pearson (1968-69) and Benny Parsons (1973). Overall, he helped some of the sport’s greatest drivers — Baker, Fireball Roberts, Bobby Allison, Cale Yarborough and Darrell Waltrip — to 109 wins.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Wahab Riaz takes indefinite break from red-ball cricket
Ronaldo on Messi: I deserve more Ballon d’Ors
NBA mulling $10M fine for tampering, per memo
Ariel Helwani’s MMA thoughts: McGregor should be Gaethje’s focus
Manziel uniform stolen from Texas A&M museum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *